Thursday, May 26, 2016

Lies I Live By by Lauren Sabel

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions Lauren will be awarding $50 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

What books were your favorite as a youth and why?

I love The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I read it every few years as a reminder of how to fully live my life and embrace the hidden positivity in every situation. When I was growing up, The Secret Garden taught me about the emotional impact that good writing can have on a reader. I also love The Twits by Roald Dahl. Although I’ve only reread it once as an adult, the impact it had on me as a kid is incredible. The Twits taught me that writing could be laugh-aloud funny, and can even exact revenge on a formidable (and sometimes beloved) enemy.

What did you want to be when you grew up? Why?

An author. I feel incredibly humble that it actually happened to me. It helped that I grew up with a family friend who knows James Patterson, so I knew that authors are real people, which in my opinion, is a considerable first step towards becoming something. I’ve always wanted to contact Mr. Patterson to tell him of the impact he had on my life, but he’s not, you know, a real person. :)

What would you write in a letter to your teen self?


What superpower would you love to have? Why?

Flying. I can already feel what it would feel like to have wind rustling under my arms as I lifted off into the sky. The rest is easy, right?

Hunger Games or Twilight? Why?

Hunger Games. I am interested in the darker side of life, and the less certain side of love, both of which are very Hunger Games-esque.

Favorite TV show from your childhood?

The Wonder Years. Why can’t TV producers make another Wonder Years?

Sum up your book for Twitter: 140 characters or less.

LIES I LIVE BY is a YA thriller about a teen psychic spy whom lives a double life to save her loved ones from torture at criminals' hands.

Who was your teenaged crush? Why?

In middle school and high school, I always had crushes on guys that felt out of my league. Now that I look back, they probably weren’t so untouchable after all. I mean, I’m lovable, and everyone is looking to love someone. I was just so insecure that I never believed I was worthy. Although I did have one shining moment: I leaned over my desk during math class and bit the back of the baseball player’s neck I had a major crush on. It never resulted in a date; but I don’t think he ever forgot me.

Favorite class in high school. Why?

Math, mostly because I didn’t care about it at all so I could spend the entire time writing poetry. Unfortunately, I really cared about my English classes, so although I absolutely adored my teachers and loved reading the texts we were assigned, I didn’t get a lick of poetry written.

Thank you!

These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.

Enjoy an excerpt:

Right now, all over the world, there are psychics searching for dangerous weapons, biological hazards, serial killers. But you’ll never know about it. The government will deny it. “That is not reliable information,” they will say, not mentioning the hundreds of psychics behind closed doors, accurately finding kidnapped people and murder victims. They won’t tell you about how some minds can see below the ground, above the earth, backwards and forwards in time. And they won’t tell you that some of them are housed in mental institutions, or that one of them is your neighbor, or that one of them is below the legal voting age. Or that, for those people, life is a secret they can’t share, so they are always alone, except for one place: In their own minds.

About the Author:
Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing LIES I LIVE BY (pub May 2016). Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.

Websites: AND
Twitter: @laurensabel
Facebook: /
Instagram: laurensabel AND liesiliveby




Barnes and Noble:

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Thank you for the interesting interview!

  2. I enjoyed the interview and excerpt. I love The Hunger Games and The Wonder Years too.

  3. Great post, I loved all of the little tidbits. I still watch the Wonder Years when they show the re-runs :D

  4. I enjoyed reading the excerpt. This book sounds like such an interesting and intriguing read. Looking forward to checking out this book.

  5. I really enjoyed reading your interview, thank you!

  6. Congrats on the new book and good luck on the book tour!

  7. I just love the book cover, it’s amazing!

  8. I have added this book to my TBR list and look forward to reading this book!

  9. Happy Memorial Day! Hope you have a fabulous holiday! Can't wait to read this book!

  10. Happy to be a part of this tour, thank you for sharing!

  11. What is the name of your favorite restaurant?